The weekend went off without a hitch. T took over most of the potty duties this
weekend for a couple of reasons-1 to give me a break and 2 so he could mainly
see how it works for himself. I believe
he is now completely on board with this process and whatever doubts he had has
now vanished. Saturday, Sunday and today
all, every single time we sit her on the chair now, she goes almost instantly. We almost don’t even have to make the sound
anymore. It’s like she realizes that that
is what the chair is for. She is still going
in her diapers but the number of “wet” diapers she is having has decreased by a
lot. I would say she only has about 4 or
so wet diapers now because we probably catch a lot of them before she has a
chance to go in her diaper now. We are
probably sitting her on the potty chair 7-8 times a day. Again, if she puts up any kind of fight or
cries or whimpers in the least, we just pick her right back up because we don’t
want her to be scared of it or associate it with anything negative but so far
she has done great with it. Most of the
time when we sit her down, she starts to go immediately, smiling and cooing.
I’ll try to put together this week a list of the few
websites I have used for “inspiration” if you will for this little journey so
for anybody that stumbles upon this blog if they decide that they want to try
it too, they can read a little more into it.
A couple of people have asked me “how in the world did you even come up
with this idea?” Honestly, it’s not as
far out of an idea as you might think-people all over the world do it-the
United States is one of the few countries that is behind (imagine that) in
potty training. I got an e-mail from one
of my pregnancy list serves about a month ago that was talking about infant
potty training and when I researched it further, I thought “hey, it makes
sense, and why not just try it.” I didn’t
figure there was any harm in trying it.
If it didn’t work, it didn’t work and no harm done. But like I said, for us anyways, it’s working
wonders. I also think age factor has a
lot to do with this. Many sites I’ve
read say that they start doing this as soon as the kid is born! I think this is to young. I think right now is the perfect age to start
this. R will be 5 months old at the end
of this week. She is old enough that she
is able to sit up with our help and can hold her head up very well by herself. But she is also under the “6 month” mark that
they talk about where many of the traits and habits are already “learned” so to
speak. I am now researching the best way
to incorporate the number 2 potty training in this whole gamete-as right now,
she is only doing number 1 in the potty so prayers appreciated with this
endeavor ha.