So Day 1-right out the gate,
I have success to report!! This morning,
we got up and had breakfast and training started promptly at 9AM! :) I read on one of the blogs that it works best the
first few days if you are really consistent and persistent about it and simply
sit your baby on the potty every 15 minutes or so. As I said, we started at 9. I made the baby signlanguage sign for potty and
made the “pssss” sound like I read but nothing happened. 15 minutes later we tried again and had
success!!! Fluke or baby genius??? No joke-she peed in the potty on the second
time! Poor little thing, I think I might
have scared her because I started screaming in excitement haha. Pay dog was also quite intrigued by all the
commotion going on as well. I read
somewhere that you are supposed to say “good potty” instead of “good job” so
she will keep hearing the word “potty” and associating it so after I calmed
down a bit I repeated that several times to her.
Of course I took photographic
evidence of the pee in the potty and texted it to all the skeptics! In the words of my dear friend Maggie,
#hatersgonnahate! Haha We tried every 15 minutes until about 10:30
and then I could tell she was getting a little annoyed/restless. So I gave her a break and let her be in her
mamaroo for an hour or so to watch some Mickey.
When T came home for lunch around 11:45, we tried again (that way if
she did it again I would have a witness this time! Ha). No go this time and of course her diaper was
wet from being in her mamaroo watching Mickey.
I’m charting all this and going to try to get a better idea over the
next week or so what her patterns are so that might make it a little easier to
help with this. Some of the blogs say to
not keep a diaper on them but I’m keeping one on her for now…I’m not that
brave…yet ;)
We didn’t do any training in
the afternoon, mainly because she naps all afternoon and is a little grumpy
butt. I also read that a lot of times
you can get them used to going in the potty right before bath time too so I
told T we were going to try this. He
was skeptic. After we got her undressed,
I held her on the potty chair, made the “psssss” sound for just a few seconds
and Viola! Pee numero dos of the day!!! I thought Todd was going to fall over but at
least he somewhat believes this is possible now! Of course maybe both of these times were just
flukes? Or maybe we have a baby genius on our hands? Or maybe just what I read
and the videos that I watched really are just the honest to goodness truth that
babies naturally know how to use the bathroom appropriately and going to the
bathroom in diapers is a learned trait?
Fingers crossed day 2 is as successful as day 1! Hopefully I’m providing you all with a little
daily entertainment-thanks for dropping by to read :)
~abe & row
I love it!!! Amazed at your energy and determination. And for all the sceptics and doubters (get ready for a hashtag) #rowdidgo
ReplyDeleteI look forward to following the undoubted daily progress.
Love
M