So Day 2 I am pretty much
convinced that this is no fluke. First
thing this morning I get her up, and I take her to the changing table to take
her diaper off. I have been pondering
this-what is the first thing most people have to do in the mornings when you
wake up?? Right-you have to go to the
bathroom! So I take her diaper off and
set her right on the potty chair, make the “psssss” sound and boom, she starts
to go! So if you are skeptic about trying
infant potty training or considering trying it, this might be a good place/time
to start with a little one because it seemed to work well for her and it’s pretty
easy to do and usually a convienient time to try it. Some people will say they don’t try to potty
train their kids because they don’t have time or are busy or whatever (i.e. busy
in the evenings after work or whatever).
This is a super easy way to start off the process.
Instead of trying to set her
on the chair every 15 minutes or so today, I tried to set her on the chair
after every diaper change today to see how that went since it’s sort of a
learning process to see which works better.
After our first diaper change this morning, I sat her back on the chair,
made the sound again and she peed again.
I am now a believer in early infant potty training!! haha
I sat her on the chair after every diaper change and she
peed in the chair 5 times today. Nearly
every time I changed her today she peed in the potty. So total, we have been at this for almost 36
hours and she has peed in the potty 7 times total.
I am not going to lie, I am even quite amazed myself! When I asked T last night if he thought this
would work, on a scale of one to ten, with one being not a chance it working at
all, he said he would have gave it about a two (I’m making him say he is sorry
now!! haha). Lots of people have asked questions
about this now-yes we are STILL keeping her in regular throw away diapers and
yes she still goes in these and I expect her to for quite a while longer. From the research I have done about this, she
probably won’t be fully “trained” until she is closer to a year but everything that
we are doing now will hopefully make the overall process easier. I’ve also been working with her on baby sign language-not
just making the sign for “potty” but other basic signs like “mommy” “daddy” “milk”
& “eat.” She can’t sign back yet but
her little mind is like a sponge so I think she’s retaining some of this : )
Thanks for dropping in ya’ll!
~abe & row